Home > Notice, Uncategorized > More Restructuring

More Restructuring

Okay, a quick update on the site’s pending rearrangement.  Firstly, tutorials are in fact going to stay as posts, not pages. I decided I didn’t want a static front page, but I don’t want general “blog” content on the front page either, so thing’s will have to stay as they are. Secondly, I’m finding more and more as I write tutorials that I have to bother going into detail about which software to install and so on and so forth. This is not only time consuming for me, but also probably annoying for the majority of you who have the software already. But I have a solution: I’m going to write a few new posts about setting up “development environments” on Windows and Unix. Then, when I do a tutorial, I’ll just assume you’ve done all the setup in the other post. In fact, I’m thinking I might more generally put a little “prerequisites” and “recommended reading” section at the top of each tutorial. That way, we can focus on the new stuff, but all the background material is easily available to those who need it.

Summary of Content

Naturally there’ll be one for Windows and one for Linux/Unix, each with various subsections. Now, I don’t want to spend too long writing these setup tutorials, but I do want to keep everyone happy ;) So here’s a quick list of what I’ll cover in each one – lot me know if there’s anything you really want added!

Windows

  • Visual C++
  • MinGW
  • Code::Blocks
  • MSYS

Linux/Unix

  • GCC
  • Code::Blocks
  • Text editor (e.g. vim)

Generic

  • CMake
  • Doxygen
  • Git
  • Subversion

These last few will be covered in both tutorials, although the specifics will be a little different of course.

  1. Emmet McPoland
    09.04.2012 at 16:37

    Wasn’t expecting to see doxygen in there, good choice.

    Thanks for writing these by the way.

    • 09.04.2012 at 18:45

      Well, my primary focus is always SFML, which uses Doxygen to generate documentation. That’s one big reason it’s here, but also it’s generally a good tool to have ready in case some library supports it for documentation.

      And no problem – it’ll save me from having to put it all in every time I use any of them :)

  2. Piet
    15.04.2012 at 00:54

    Hi

    Could you make SFML libraries using GCC 4.7 MinGW ?
    Your SFML 2.0 libraries do not work with GCC 4.7 MinGW, error on startup:
    “The procedure entry point __gxx_personality_v0 could not be located in the dynamic link library libstdc++-6.dll”

    This is because that procedure entry point is now named ‘__gxx_personality_sj0′

    • 15.04.2012 at 14:12

      I’ll try to when I have the chance. Can I ask, where did you get hold of MinGW 4.7? mingw-get-inst doesn’t install that version yet, does it?

  3. Piet
    15.04.2012 at 01:01

    Oh and please compile for C++11, which requires the command line parameter
    -std=c++11

    • 15.04.2012 at 11:20

      Good idea – I’ll put that in. Well, this is for GCC/MinGW only, I think. Visual C++ seems to enable C++11 support by default. There is also another option “-std=gnu++11″ which enables C++11 “with GNU extensions”. I don’t really know what this entails, but at one stage I could not compile Boost without it.

  4. Piet
    15.04.2012 at 14:09

    Cool, hope to see it soon :)

    ps. you forgot to approve my 1st post

    • 15.04.2012 at 14:12

      Sorry, saw two notifications, but assumed it was just WordPress being stupid…

  5. Piet
    15.04.2012 at 14:22

    You can get MinGW GCC 4.7 from here:
    http://code.google.com/p/mingw-builds/

    I hope you can build them soon, I need them :P
    BTW what is SFML 2.0? Is it an unofficial version of SFML? Because the latest official is 1.6 afaik.

  6. Piet
    15.04.2012 at 14:27

    Oh, a friend just noticed that SFML 2.0 RC 1 is released with a SJLJ build. What a coincidence.

    I’ll try that out.

  7. Piet
    15.04.2012 at 15:20

    Yeah, following code crashes on SFML 2.0 RC1 SJLJ building with MinGW GCC 4.7 C++11:

    int main() {
      sf::RenderWindow * ptr = new sf::RenderWindow();
    
      return 0;
    }
    
  8. Piet
    15.04.2012 at 18:46

    A friend rebuilt SFML for me for GCC C++11 and his files work :)

    Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

