Home > Links and Libraries, Tips & Tricks > Which language next?

Which language next?

Hello there! C++ is my primary language, and as you’re here, perhaps it’s yours too. Anyway, I’ve recently been looking for a new language to learn and I’ve decided on a few possibilities. Thought you might like to hear about it.

  1. C#
  2. D
  3. Python
  4. Ruby
  5. Assembly (I’m doing this one whatever)
  6. PHP
  7. Lua

If you’ve any other suggestions for fun or interesting languages, feel free to comment. I’d also love to hear about your favourite language, and which languages you’re learning next. For these, you can comment here, or complete one of my programming language polls.

  1. anon
    13.06.2011 at 16:02

    I reckon you should give PHP a try. It’s a scripting language that kinda resembles C and is used for server-sided stuff. With PHP, you should learn SQL, which is a language for databases. Together, I think you could use it to compliment your C++.

  2. xander333
    13.06.2011 at 16:23

    C# seems to have become a must-have skill nowadays, so you can’t go wrong with that!
    I’ve also heard a lot of good things about D, and I’m going to give it a try in the near-future. For scripting languages I’d choose Lua above both Python and Ruby though!

  3. 13.06.2011 at 16:38

    I almost added PHP to the list before. I shall put it on there now, along with Lua.

    @xander333 C# is certainly a nice language – I have worked with it before, but it’s been a very long time. As for D, I’ve tried it in the last day or two. It’s quite nice, though I’m still getting used to it. D-IDE even has a ribbon interface!

  4. anon
    14.06.2011 at 00:05

    @xander333 in my opinion, there are two types of programming: programming professionally, and programming for a hobby.
    As for the former, you only work for the money, and so you try and slap together bits of code as quickly as possible and as long as it works, it’s fine. (Windows is an example of this, but I won’t go off topic :P) For this you want high-level languages such as BASIC, or C# to get the job done quickly.
    On the other hand, if you code for fun or because you enjoy it, then you’re better off spending a little more time making code more elegant, and efficient. For this languages such as C are preferred. All just in my opinion though :)

  1. 22.06.2011 at 13:16

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

